By Ryan Pfeifer,

University of Northern Colorado Head Football Coach Ed McCaffery is one of 78 players from the Football Bowl Subdivision up for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame announced by the National Football Foundation (NFF).

“It’s an enormous honor to just be on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot considering more than 5.4 million people have played college football and only 1,027 players have been inducted,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “The Hall’s requirement of being a First-Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of about 1,500 individuals who are even eligible. Being in today’s elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to have ever played the game, and we look forward to announcing the 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class Presented by ETT early next year.”

McCaffrey played his college ball at Stanford from 1987-90 under famous head coaches Jack Elway and Dennis Green. McCaffrey was a first team All-American and first team All-Pac 10 selection at wide receiver in his senior season. UNC Offensive Coordinator Dave Baldwin was McCaffrey’s position coach at Stanford from 1987-88.

He went on to play in the NFL for 13 seasons for the Denver Broncos, San Francisco 49ers and New York Giants. He was on the Super Bowl XXXII and XXXIII winning teams for the Broncos and Super Bowl XXIX with San Francisco. His best season as a pro came in 1998. He helped Denver win its second straight Super Bowl and he earned second team All-Pro recognition while being named to the Pro Bowl. In that year he made 64 receptions for 1,053 yards and scored 10 touchdowns.

McCaffrey is in his first year as the head coach of the Bears.

The ballot was emailed to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF’s Honors Courts, which will deliberate and select the class. The FBS Honors Court, chaired by NFF Board Member and College Football Hall of Famer Archie Griffin from Ohio State, and the Divisional Honors Court, chaired by former Marshall head coach, longtime athletics director and NFF Board Member Jack Lengyel, include an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletic administrators, Hall of Famers and members of the media.

The announcement of the 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class Presented by ETT will be made in early 2021, with specific details to be announced in the future.