Jessica Schultz 

28
Marketing Manager, Boys & Girls Clubs of Larimer County

Tell us about yourself, your history and how you came to be where you are now. 
I am originally from Green Bay, Wisconsin, and an enrolled member of the Oneida Nation Tribe of Indians. Upon moving to Colorado, I started working with Boys & Girls Clubs of Larimer County. It was here that I realized I could use my skills in business to make a difference.  

What are you passionate about professionally and personally, and why? 
Self-care. For a long time, I put others’ needs ahead of my own and tried to be what I thought others wanted me to be. Once I started focusing on myself, I discovered newfound happiness. 

What is your superpower? 
Being a morning person. I wake up at 4 a.m. five out of seven days a week, and I think this is a huge factor in my personal and professional success. I am able to conquer so much before I even get to work for the day, and I can spend my evenings doing what recharges me for the days ahead.  

What do you consider your biggest accomplishment, either professionally or personally? 
I am currently on a journey to earn my Master of Business Administration from CSU while working full-time. I am track to graduate in May 2023. It has been quite a journey to be learning virtually while maintaining a full-time job, but I love applying these newly discovered skills directly to my work.  

Who has been the biggest influence in your life? 
The most influential has been my family. My mom taught me not to take life too seriously and my brother taught me to be resilient, but above all is my dad: He taught me that success takes hard work and dedication. He supports my ambitions and always pushes me to follow my dreams.  

Where do you see yourself in five years? In 10 years? 
In five years, I hope to be in a position where I am making high-level strategic decisions that lead to positive change in this community. In 10 years, I hope to still be leaving a mark on my community while traveling more and gaining more life experiences. There is so much world out there, and I don’t want to miss out on it. 

What piece(s) of advice would you give to your
18-year-old self?
 
I would tell my 18-year-old-self to slow down. At that age, I was in a rush to leave my hometown and eager to start the next chapter in my life. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve learned to slow down and appreciate the present moment.  

What do you enjoy doing in your downtime? 
I love playing outside! Hiking, camping, running, playing basketball, etc. If it’s outside, I’m in. It would also be remiss of me not to mention Cyclebar. Everyone who knows me knows how much I love that place. 

What would you like to give back to your community? 
Working for a nonprofit organization, I get to give back to my community daily. I want to continue developing my own skills so I can not only help Boys & Girls Clubs thrive but also help the rest of the community grow.