Gov. Polis Attends the 2023 Colorado Governor’s Art Show Opening Night Gala

Gov. Jared Polis at the 2023 Governor's Art Show
Gov. Jared Polis attends the 2023 Governor's Art Show

Gov. Jared Polis gives a speech at the 2023 Governor’s Art Show

May 5, 2023, marked the 32nd annual Colorado Governor’s Art Show Opening Night Gala at the Loveland Museum with a special guest in attendance. Gov. Jared Polis arrived early and greeted the 62 fine artists as they proudly displayed their work, then he took to the podium to address the crowd.

In his speech, he emphasized the economic impact of supporting local artists throughout the state and thanked those in attendance. He applauded the talent in the room, noting that many local artists find inspiration from the beautiful landscapes around them, giving viewers the opportunity to bring pieces of the Colorado outdoors into their homes.

After his speech concluded, artists and attendees mingled and discussed the themes behind the pieces they presented. Various forms of art were displayed, including bold sculptures and intricate drawings and paintings. Their work spanned two floors, along with live acoustic guitar music and catered food and drinks for guests to enjoy as they admired the art.

A sculpture at the 2023 Governor's Art Show

A sculpture at the 2023 Governor’s Art Show

This year’s Governor’s Art Show & Sale runs through Sunday, June 11, and will be open to the public during museum hours. Net proceeds will benefit charitable causes sponsored by the Loveland and Thompson Valley Rotary Clubs, such as the Thompson Education Foundation and local youth art scholarships.

2023 Award Winners

The following award winners have been announced:

Best of Show: Jen Starling, “Reboot” (Arvada)
Artist’s Choice: Crystal Despain, “Sisters at Rest” (Windsor)

Awards of Merit
  • Michael Baum, “Lonesome County” (Manitou Springs)
  • Denise Dambrackas, “Impenetrable Princess” (Denver)
  • Crystal Despain, “Ode to Chuck” (Windsor)
  • Kay Juricek, “Late Spring Snowdrift” (Denver)
  • Andrea Kemp, “How We Talk” (Golden)
  • Stephen Landis, “Spirit Vessel” (Loveland)
  • Jeremy Manyik, “Departure” (La Junta)
  • Parker McDonald, “Desert Screeches” (Longmont)
  • Desmond O’Hagan, “A View of Speer Neighborhood” (Denver)
  • Tanner Steed, “The Next Chapter” (Denver)